Chapter 14. Tools

Table of Contents

1. The Toolbox
1.1. Introduction
1.2. Tool Icons
1.3. Color and Indicator Area
1.4. Tool Options
2. Selection Tools
2.1. Common Features
2.2. Rectangle Selection
2.3. Ellipse Selection
2.4. Free Selection (Lasso)
2.5. Foreground Select
2.6. Fuzzy Selection (Magic wand)
2.7. Select By Color
2.8. Scissors Select
3. Paint Tools
3.1. Common Features
3.2. Dynamics
3.3. Brush Tools (Pencil, Paintbrush, Airbrush)
3.4. Bucket Fill
3.5. Gradient
3.6. Pencil
3.7. Paintbrush
3.8. Eraser
3.9. Airbrush
3.10. Ink
3.11. MyPaint Brush
3.12. Clone
3.13. Heal
3.14. Perspective Clone
3.15. Blur/Sharpen
3.16. Smudge
3.17. Dodge/Burn
4. Transform Tools
4.1. Common Features
4.2. Align and Distribute
4.3. Move
4.4. Crop
4.5. Rotate
4.6. Scale
4.7. Shear
4.8. Perspective
4.9. 3D Transform
4.10. Unified Transform
4.11. Handle Transform
4.12. Flip
4.13. Cage Transform
4.14. Warp Transform
5. Other Tools
5.1. Overview
5.2. Paths
5.3. Text
5.4. Color Picker
5.5. Measure
5.6. Zoom
5.7. GEGL Operation

Most tools can be activated by clicking on an icon in the Toolbox. By default, some tools are accessible only via the menus. Every tool can be activated from the Tools menu (or the Colors menu for some color tools). Most tools can also be activated from the keyboard using an accelerator key.

In the default setup, created when GIMP is first installed, not all tools show icons in the Toolbox: some tools are omitted. You can customize the set of tools that are shown in the Toolbox in the Toolbox Preferences.

There are two reasons you might want to do this: first, if you only rarely use a tool, it might be easier to find the tools you want if the distracting icon is removed; second, if you use tools that are not found in the toolbox by default, you might find it convenient to have icons for them easily available. In any case, you can always access any tool at any time using the Tools or Colors menu from the main menu.

Tool icons are grouped by default. Tool groups are marked with a small dark triangle at the bottom right corner of the icon. The group icon displayed is the last used tool in the group. Right click on the group icon to display the list of tools in the group.

You can get all tools displayed by unchecking the Use tool groups option in Section 6.13, “Toolbox”.

By default, the shape of the pointer changes when it is inside an image, to a shape that indicates which tool is active. You can change this behavior in the Pointers section of the Input Devices settings.


By default, this area is not displayed. You can add this area through Edit → Preferences → Toolbox: Section 6.13, “Toolbox”.

A thumbnail of the active image is displayed in this area. If you click on this thumbnail, the Images dialog is opened. This can be useful if you have many images on your screen.

If you use GIMP on a Unix-like operating system with the X Window System, you can also drag and drop the thumbnail to an enabled XDS file manager to directly save the corresponding image.


If you have things set up like most people do, activating a tool causes its Tool Options dialog to appear below the Toolbox. If you don't have things set up this way, you probably should: it is very difficult to use tools effectively without being able to manipulate their options.

[Tip] Tip

The Tool Options appear beneath the Toolbox in the default setup. If you lose it somehow, you can get it back by creating a new Tool Options dialog using Windows → Dockable Dialogs → Tool Options and then docking it below the Toolbox.

Alternatively you can double-click any tool button in the Toolbox as a quick way to open the Tool Options. If it appears in a different dock than the one you want, you can drag it to your preferred dock.

See the section on Dialogs and Docking if you need help moving the Tool Options.

Each tool has its own specific set of options. The choices you make for them are kept throughout the session, until you change them. In fact, the tool options are maintained from session to session. The persistence of tool options across sessions can sometimes be an annoying nuisance: a tool behaves very strangely, and you can't figure out why until you remember that you were using some unusual option the last time you worked with it, two weeks ago.

At the bottom of the Tool Options dialog, four buttons appear:

In addition to the commands for the above buttons, the Tool Options tab menu has an extra submenu:

Edit Tool Preset

This submenu shows a list of presets for the active tool that you can edit. Selecting one of them will open the Tool Presets Editor with that tool preset loaded. From there you can edit the preset, unless it is one of the default presets that come with GIMP.

Below we will explain the interaction with sliders and the mouse scroll-wheel.